Dracula vs. Hollywood (and NBC)

Everyone knows the name “Count Dracula.”

However, I didn’t know much about the story behind the character until my freshman year of college.  One of my best friends, a diehard Dracula fangirl, suggested that our group watch the 1931 classic film before we went to our university’s annual Halloween dance.  I’ll be honest: it didn’t make much of an impression on me the first time.  (Sorry, Alie!)

About three years later, I picked up the novel and immediately fell in love.  Throughout the first four chapters, I gaped at those pages and wondered, “WHO is this incredibly brave, death-defying, clever hero and where the heck was he in the film?”  That character was Jonathan Harker.  As the story continued, I asked myself again, “WHO is this incredibly brave, death-defying, clever hero, and where the heck was SHE in the film?”  That character was Jonathan’s wife, Mina Harker.

I’m not even getting into the other characters I came to love, who didn’t appear in the movie or made no impression on me in the movie: Dr. Seward, Dr. Van Helsing, Quincey Morris, etc, etc.

From that point onward, the movie adaptations became a touchy subject with me, to put it very mildly.  I’m surprised my friends still want to talk to me after the number of times I’ve gone off on a rant about Everything The Movies Get Wrong About Dracula, Which Is the Best Book I Ever Read That Wasn’t Harry Potter or The Lord of the Rings.

Ergo, for the entire month of October, I’m going to write posts about different Dracula movies, plus one T.V. series and two miniseries, and analyze them on a case-by-case basis.  Maybe I can finally put this issue behind me once and for all. (NAH.)  But I won’t be starting with the classic 1931 film.  Actually, I will start with the oldest surviving film adaptation of Bram Stoker’s story: Nosferatu.  Also, I’m going to purposefully leave out sequels, prequels, and movies like Van Helsing, Love at First Bite, and Hotel Transylvania, which feature the character but don’t have much to do with Bram Stoker’s novel.

Here’s the full list of what I’ll discuss.  If you can think of any other titles that I’m missing, please let me know!  I’ll add links to the corresponding posts as I go:

  1. Nosferatu
  2. Dracula (1931)
  3. Horror of Dracula (1958)
  4. Count Dracula (1977)
  5. Dracula (1979)
  6. Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992)
  7. Dracula (2006 BBC version)
  8. Dracula (NBC series)
  9. Dracula: Dead and Loving It

 

2 thoughts on “Dracula vs. Hollywood (and NBC)

  1. Don’t forget Dracula 2000! It’s a different adaptation entirely but most of the characters or of themselves exist in this new world! Word of friendly reminder though…Dracula’s true identity might have you running out the door! But can’t wait to see what you got! I’m such a good influence on you! It’s okay of our view on Dracula/Mina are different! You’re still my friend! Now our Phillies vs. Mets rivalry…that’s another story! LOL just kidding!

    Oceans of Love,

    Alie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ok for the record, it is NOT 3:57AM that I am posting this….unless my phone is being controlled overseas by…a cargo ship…bound for the States…with a captain tied to the helm…horrible tragedy…horrible tragedy! Lol

    Oceans of Love,

    Alie

    P.S. I’m going to end all posts with that slogan!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

